波特雷羅景觀特色的波特雷羅山健康中心

波特雷羅景觀特色的波特雷羅山健康中心

公佈於2019年6月  在 特徵  經過 傑西卡·齊默(Jessica Zimmer)

Caleb G. Clark Potrero Hill保健中心(PHHC)從其位於威斯康星大街1050號的高處開始,為眾多城市居民提供服務,包括長期的Hill患者,市政僱員以及Excelsior和Tenderloin的新客戶。

“這個醫療中心之所以能脫穎而出,是因為患者覺得自己要回家了。來自波特雷羅山中心的許多患者已經來這裡多年了。當[鄰居]孩子從街上的中心看到人們時,他們打招呼。這與信任有關。” PHHC的護士經理Evita Mullins說。 

PHHC的患者名單約有2,000名聖方濟各會教堂。它每天服務於50至60人,提供初級衛生保健,普通牙科,對慢性病患者的家中就診以及針對HIV / AIDS和相關醫療需求的治療。該中心還提供眼保健,足病治療和心理健康服務,以及協助您瀏覽保險表格和申請社會服務。 

大約一年前,PHHC與Potrero Hill社區住宅合作,在Nabe的953 De Haro Street所在地提供便利設施。該中心本月將向鄰近機構,包括Starr King和Daniel Webster小學的有關營養和牙齒衛生的課堂計劃。 

PHHC與加州大學舊金山分校(UCSF)醫學院合作,對中心的學生進行培訓。高中生和高年級學生通過非營利組織San Francisco YouthWorks完成該機構的健康實習。 

“該地區的人口統計學已經發生了很大變化,但是我們繼續通過整體護理方法為患者提供服務。就像我們在中心成立時所做的那樣。”穆林斯說。

PHHC由舊金山公共衛生部(DPH)運營,患者服務費用由Medi-Cal,Medicare或Healthy San Francisco支付。沒有醫療保險的成年人也有資格接受治療。 

根據DPH基層醫療運營總監RoxanaCastellón的說法,大多數中樞患者居住在七個郵政編碼中。在Dogpatch和山丘上大約有390個居住地,在Bayview-Hunters Point上有339個居住地,在Inner Mission和Bernal Heights中有373個居住地,在Excelsior,Ingleside和Crocker-Amazon中居住著257,在Visitacion谷和Sunnydale Developments居住在南部地區122 -市場和海斯谷,以及在里脊和附近地區的90。 

“該地區的人口統計已經發生了很大變化。許多以前住在山丘上的病人已經搬到了紐約市的其他社區或鄰近的縣。如今,大多數PHHC患者來到這裡是因為他們要么在家族中獲得了多年的照顧,要么在家庭中世代相傳,或者被DPH分配到該中心作為他們的醫療之家。”Castellón說。

穆林斯說,沒有庇護所的臨時人員也可以享受PHHC服務。 “一些無家可歸的人被分配到這個中心,因為他們的緊急地址就在附近。其他人來找我們的食品藥房。當我們確定患者無家可歸時,我們會向他們發送郵件和短信提醒以尋求服務。”穆林斯說。 

PHHC擁有約25名員工,包括三名醫生,兩名護士,五名醫療助手,牙科助手和衛生師,足病醫生,行為健康團隊,營養師,藥劑師,精神病醫生和前台人員。 

PHHC在那不勒斯提供流感預防針和產前保健。它每月經營一個糖尿病支持小組,並提供免費的健康午餐;每個星期三,一名工作人員會去做血壓讀數。 

“所有這些事情都很好。我們希望與PHHC合作的另一件事是與希爾的16至24歲之間的過渡年齡青年接觸。由於住房成本和技能的原因,有許多年輕人將成為無家可歸的人。我們正在努力做到包容。我們的目標是讓他們在他們所居住的社區的一個中心簽約接受醫療保健。” Nabe執行董事愛德華·哈特(Edward Hatter)說。 

UCSF大學二年級學生Juhi Varshney目前正在PHHC進行藥物輪換,每兩週拜訪一次。 “ Potrero Hill是一家真正的綜合診所,可以看到很多處於脆弱狀況的患者。我在這裡的輪換很特別,因為我有機會縱向隨訪一些患者,” Varshney說。 PHHC是“可愛的”,員工是“善良和周到的”。他們與患者之間有著有意義的關係。”

在診所的第一天,Varshney對一名患有慢性疾病的患者進行了家訪。 “我和護士走了幾條街。我從來沒有真正走過附近。歡迎您被邀請到患者家中,這對我的學習非常有幫助。我必須去見她的狗,並在她住的地方看她。”瓦爾什尼說。

根據Varshney的說法,PHHC患者經常有外傷,慢性疼痛和使用藥物的病史。 “我認為需要致力於長期維護的提供商。找到持續支持患者健康的地方需要時間,信任和大量工作。治癒的過程不是線性路徑。 Varshney說:“我們的患者應該得到一個他們感到安全和得到照顧的地方,在那里人們將在那裡待了很多年。”

與所有DPH設施一樣,PHHC也提供翻譯服務。中心工作人員會講西班牙語,中文和他加祿語。 

總部位於Excelsior的非營利組織菲律賓社區中心的語言訪問協調員傑西卡·安東尼奧(Jessica Antonio)表示,DPH必須以患者感到舒適的交流語言來提供護理。 “ Excelsior是該市最後一個菲律賓移民社區之一的所在地。當大多數移民社區被趕出家門時,甚至更需要建立一個能夠滿足現有社區需求的中心。較小的衛生保健中心使人們更容易獲得醫療服務。”安東尼奧說。

“對於我們許多社區來說,獲得醫療保健和治療服務可能會面臨挑戰,特別是對於那些尋求解決其心理健康和藥物使用需求的人以及我們的衛生系統歷來服務不足的社區成員而言,”該計劃高級總監Linda Walubengo說舊金山愛滋病基金會(San Francisco AIDS Foundation)的行政管理和運作,該基金會致力於為愛滋病患者提供教育和宣傳。 “社區中以人們可以輕鬆訪問的方式提供的程序非常重要,因為它們可以使人們獲得所需的服務並為之做好準備。目標必須以人為中心,而不是他們的疾病或導航複雜醫療保健系統的能力。”

明年,PHHC預計將再聘請2或3名DPH醫生。 UCSF的專職員工是一名藥物濫用諮詢員,該中心是該中心的常駐人員。 PHHC正在與Starr King和Daniel Webster協商在小學安排彈出式牙科檢查,為學生提供基本的牙科護理和轉介,以提供更深入的服務。 PHHC也正在開發前往診所的課堂實地考察。 

“事情發生變化的原因是,某些計劃正在從試驗計劃轉變為永久計劃。我們有委員會致力於確定患者的需求一段時間。對於中心而言,這真是令人興奮的時刻。”穆林斯說。 

Hatter支持在Potrero Annex-Terrace住宅區建有診所,該住宅區有1,280名居民。 “ Hope-SF提議的一部分是,在他們正在建造的四個大型住房綜合體中,應該在現場設有健康中心。現在,DPH正在放棄建立這些中心。”哈特說。 

1972年,由於無法獲得負擔得起的醫療服務,希爾發生了運動,以確保社區獲得足夠的服務。 Hill的長期居民Jim Queen成立了Potrero Hill社區政府(PHCG),這是一個專注於Annex-Terrace的宣傳組織。建立PHHC的工作始於PHCG的衛生委員會,該委員會主要由非裔美國人附樓露台住戶組成。 

Annex-Terrace居民安妮·布魯(Annie Blue)擔任委員會的第一任主席。布魯與她的鄰居(包括維拉·布魯,麗貝卡·普內爾,露絲·惠靈頓,諾瑪·傑克遜,弗朗西斯·比爾斯和薩姆·斯科特)合作,遊說了DPH以建設該中心。 

女王說:“韋斯布魯克(Elouise Westbrook)對於實現這一目標也至關重要。” 

埃諾拉·麥克斯韋(Enola Maxwell)的孫子哈特(Hatter)回憶說,那不勒斯(Nabe)的長期執行董事麥克斯韋(Maxwell)是中心倡導者。哈特說:“隆達·卡坎特(Rhonda Carchant)也是另一位積極努力使診所開業的主要積極分子之一。” 

皇后說,PHCG堅持要有社區外展人員。女王說:“該中心需要外展人員與公共住房居民之間的這種互動,以使患者獲得護理註冊。” 

PHCG對可能使用該中心的低收入Hill居民進行了調查,並確定了決策者進行遊說。希爾的長期居民Art Agnos當時也是加利福尼亞州議員萊奧·麥卡錫(Leo McCarthy)的助手,也是希爾的居民。 1973年12月13日,Agnos在附近被一名“斑馬殺手”之一槍殺,這四名黑人是針對歐美人的。作為響應,Agnos更加努力地建立了該中心。 

PHCG向當時的DPH主任弗朗西斯·庫裡(Francis Curry)博士證明了希爾在醫療方面的服務不足。 PHHC於1976年1月17日開業,以非洲裔社會工作者Caleb G. Clark的名字命名。CalebG. Clark早年在該中心工作,開業後不久死於腎臟疾病。 

PHHC的第一任醫療主任是羅伯特·羅斯博士,他是紮克伯格舊金山總醫院和創傷中心(ZSFGH)的家庭健康居民。羅斯建立了該中心與ZSFGH的家庭健康居住計劃和UCSF醫學院的聯繫。 1983年7月27日,羅斯在PHHC被該中心一名患者姐妹的a夫殺死並殺害。 

邁克爾·德倫南(Michael Drennan)博士在經歷動蕩的時期後成為該中心的下一位醫療主任。 1987年,一直在資助PHHC的聯邦政府撤回了支持。從1988年到1992年擔任市長的阿格諾斯(Agnos)確保了PHHC繼續獲得市政資金。在Agnos的整個任期內及其後,紐約市都遭受預算削減,給關閉工廠帶來了壓力。 2000年,公共衛生總監Mitchell Katz博士想關閉PHHC並出售其建築物。希爾居民的反對促使社會工作者,DPH領導機構DPH衛生委員會負責人Roma Guy推翻了Katz。 

皇后記得德倫南(Drennan)是一位模範領袖,他曾幫助該中心製定了一系列創新計劃。皇后說:“他與社區衛生工作者桑迪·波特和約翰·墨菲一起擴大了與社區的接觸,並豐富了衛生專業人員的現場培訓……成為了波特雷羅山的中央衛生和社會保健機構。” 

過去的其他中心醫學主任包括接替德倫南(Drennan)的揚·格里(Jan Gurley)博士和2017年擔任醫學主任的賈斯汀·摩根(Justin Morgan)博士。安吉拉·米勒(Angela Miller)博士於2019年2月成為專職醫學主任。

2010年,DPH擴展了建築物的後部,增加了兩個檢查室,一個會議區和三個辦公室。 2014年,總部位於伯納爾高地的藝術家集體Precita Eyes在建廠40週年之際,及時完成了該設施南側的Bridge Housing Mural項目。這幅壁畫由蘇珊·塞萬提斯(Susan Cervantes),蘇阿羅·塞萬提斯(Suaro Cervantes)和弗雷德·阿爾瓦拉多(Fred Alvarado)繪畫,其特徵是閃爍的眼睛注視著整個社區。 

2016年,該中心的病歷室改建為行為健康實驗室工作人員的辦公空間。 2017年,該中心的護理站進行了改造,包括新的書桌,計算機站,水槽和地板。該建築於2018年升級了供暖系統。該設施的實驗室目前正在改建中。 

該中心的許多患者都住在距離酒店數英里的地方。這種轉變始於1990年代初,當時PHHC被分配了來自遙遠社區的患者。 Queen和Agnos表示,高檔化是PHHC患者在Hill的人數減少的主要原因。 

“我們已經清空了該醫療所針對的Potrero Hill地區的許多社區。當Potrero附樓和露台滿座而熱鬧時,很多人需要診所的服務,” Agnos說。

Agnos表示,鄰里入學率低使該中心對不熟悉其歷史的人們的吸引力降低。他們看著地圖,看到它與ZSFGH的距離。好像這麼短的距離。但是他們看不到小山。他們沒有看到這個保健中心的普通患者不可能達到ZSFGH。沒有直接的路線,” Agnos說。

Mullins補充說,與長期的初級保健相比,ZSFGH更加註重緊急服務。 

從1991年到2017年在該中心工作的內科醫生喬納森·拉普(Jonathan Rapp)博士說:“您必須有人提倡在需要的地方提供服務。”拉普說,即使在對服務的需求很高的情況下,PHHC也從未拒絕因無法付款而照顧病人。 

皇后說,該中心的未來是不確定的。 “舊金山不再對工人階級負擔得起。希望在Potrero附樓和露台改造完成後,PHHC的註冊人數會增加。 Hope-SF是一個公共房屋修復項目,涉及Hunters View,Sunnydale-Velasco,Potrero Terrace and Annex和Alice Griffith的改建,將增加Potrero Hill的單位總數。這將增加合格患者的數量。這些居民將能夠保留PHHC患者。” Queen說。 “中心,Head Start程序和Nabe是附近開發的最好的程序。中心變成了每個人都可以與之聯繫的地方。這裡的居民為此奮鬥了多年。他們感到中心的所有權。 PHHC已成為核心。人們為此感到自豪。當你走進這個地方時,它仍然有那種感覺。”

“該中心提供的個人護理超越了普通護理。急診室您不會得到這種照顧。他們修補您並發送您出去。這個中心的深度要大得多。 PHHC的員工超出了最初的病徵。他們在這裡聽取社區的聲音,吸收社區的文化,並幫助居民更全面地康復。” Agnos說。 

2019-06-21T10:27:16-07:00 2019年6月21日|

English | 繁體中文 | Español | Русский | Tagalog | Tiếng Việt

Potrero Hill Health Center featured in Potrero View

Potrero Hill Health Center featured in Potrero View

Published on June, 2019  in Features  by Jessica Zimmer

From its perch at 1050 Wisconsin Street the Caleb G. Clark Potrero Hill Health Center (PHHC) serves a wide range of City residents, including long-standing Hill patients, municipal employees, and new clients from the Excelsior and Tenderloin.

“This health care center stands out because patients feel like they’re coming home. Many patients at the center from Potrero Hill have been coming here for years. When the [neighborhood] kids see people from the center on the street, they say hello. It’s about trust,” said Evita Mullins, PHHC’s nurse manager. 

PHHC has a patient list of about 2,000 San Franciscans. It serves between 50 and 60 people a day, offering primary health care, general dentistry, in-home visits for chronically ill clients, and treatment for HIV/AIDS and related medical needs. The center also provides eye care, podiatry, and mental health services, as well as assistance navigating insurance forms and applying for social services. 

Roughly a year ago, PHHC partnered with the Potrero Hill Neighborhood House to offer amenities at the Nabe’s 953 De Haro Street location. This month the center will introduce classroom programs about nutrition and dental hygiene to neighborhood institutes, including at Starr King and Daniel Webster elementary schools. 

PHHC collaborates with the University of California San Francisco (UCSF) School of Medicine to train students at the center. High school juniors and seniors complete health internships at the facility through the nonprofit San Francisco YouthWorks. 

“The demographics of the area have changed a lot, but we continue to serve patients through a holistic care approach. That’s just as we did when the center started,” said Mullins.

PHHC is run by the San Francisco Department of Public Health (DPH), with patient services paid for by Medi-Cal, Medicare, or Healthy San Francisco. Uninsured medically indigent adults are also eligible for treatment. 

According to Roxana Castellón, DPH primary care director of operations, most center patients reside in seven zip codes. Approximately 390 live in Dogpatch and on the Hill, 339 in Bayview-Hunters Point, 373 in the Inner Mission and Bernal Heights, 257 in Excelsior, Ingleside, and Crocker-Amazon, 173 in Visitacion Valley and the Sunnydale Developments, 122 South-of-Market and Hayes Valley, and 90 in the Tenderloin and adjacent areas. 

“The demographics of the neighborhood have changed a lot. Many patients who used to live on the Hill have moved to other neighborhoods throughout the City or into neighboring counties. Today, the majority of PHHC patients come here because they have either received care for many years spanning generations in their family or they are assigned (by DPH) to the center as their medical home,” said Castellón.

Mullins said transitory people without shelter also receive PHHC services. “Some homeless people are assigned to this center because their emergency address is close by. Others come to us for the food pharmacy. When we identify a patient as homeless, we send them mailers and text reminders to come in for services,” said Mullins. 

PHHC has a staff of about 25, including three doctors, two nurses, five medical assistants, dental aides and hygienist, podiatrist, behavioral health team, nutritionists, pharmacists, psychiatrist, and front office staff. 

At the Nabe PHHC offers flu shots and prenatal care. It runs a monthly diabetes support group with a free healthy lunch; a staff member visits every Wednesday to do blood pressure readings. 

“All of those things have been good. Another thing we want to work on with PHHC is reaching out to the Hill’s transitional age youth between the ages of 16 and 24. There’s a lot of young people who are about to become homeless due to housing costs and their skill sets. We’re working to be inclusive. The goal is to get them signed up for health care at a center in the neighborhood where they live,” said Edward Hatter, the Nabe’s executive director. 

Juhi Varshney, a second-year UCSF medical student, is currently doing a medicine rotation at PHHC, visiting every two weeks. “Potrero Hill is a really integrated clinic that sees a lot of patients in vulnerable circumstances. My rotation here is special because I’ve had the chance to follow some patients longitudinally,” said Varshney. PHHC is “lovely,” the staff are “kind and thoughtful. They have meaningful relationships with their patients.”

On her first day at the clinic, Varshney made a home visit to a patient with a chronic illness. “The nurse and I walked a couple of streets down. I’d never really gotten to walk the neighborhood before. It was welcoming to be invited to a patient’s home and so helpful for my learning. I got to meet her dog and see her in the context where she lived,” said Varshney.

According to Varshney, PHHC patients often have a history of trauma, chronic pain, and substance use. “I think it takes providers who are committed to caring for the long haul. It takes time, trust, and a lot of work to find a place of constant support for patients’ health. The process of healing is not a linear path. Our patients deserve a place where they feel safe and cared for, where people will be there for them for years,” said Varshney.

As with all DPH facilities, PHHC provides translation services. Center staff speak Spanish, Chinese, and Tagalog. 

Jessica Antonio, language access coordinator for the Filipino Community Center, an Excelsior-based nonprofit organization, said it’s mandatory for DPH to provide care in the language in which a patient feels comfortable communicating. “The Excelsior is home to one of the last of the Filipino immigrant communities in the City. When the majority of an immigrant community has been forced out, there’s even more of a need to have centers that cater to the existing community. Smaller health care centers make care more accessible,” said Antonio.

“For many of our communities, accessing health care and treatment services can be challenging, especially for those seeking to address their mental health and substance use needs and members of communities historically underserved by our health systems,” said Linda Walubengo, senior director of program administration and operations at the San Francisco AIDS Foundation, a nonprofit that focuses on education and advocacy for people living with AIDS. “Programs offered in the community in ways that allow people to readily access them are important, as they allow people to get the services they need and are ready for. The goal needs to be centering on the person, not their illness or ability to navigate a complex health care system.”

In the next year, PHHC expects to engage two or three more DPH doctors. A substance abuse counselor, who is a full-time UCSF employee, is stationed at the center. PHHC is negotiating with Starr King and Daniel Webster to arrange popup dental screenings at the elementary schools, providing students with basic dental care and referrals for more intensive services. PHHC is also developing class field trips to the clinic. 

“The reason things are changing is because some programs are shifting from pilot programs to permanent programs. We’ve had committees working to identify the patients’ needs for a while. It’s a really exciting time for the center,” said Mullins. 

Hatter supports having a clinic at the Potrero Annex-Terrace housing complex, home to 1,280 residents. “Part of the Hope-SF proposal was that there were supposed to be wellness centers onsite in the four large housing complexes that they’re building. Now DPH is backing down on putting those centers in,” said Hatter. 

In 1972, prompted by poor access to affordable health care, a movement arose on the Hill to ensure that the community received adequate services. Long-time Hill resident, Jim Queen, formed the Potrero Hill Community Government (PHCG), an advocacy group that focused on Annex-Terrace. The effort to establish PHHC started through PHCG’s health committee, which was primarily composed of African-American Annex-Terrace tenants. 

Annie Blue, an Annex-Terrace resident, served as the committee’s first chairperson. Blue worked with her neighbors, including Vera Blue, Rebecca Purnell, Ruth Wellington, Norma Jackson, Francis Beals, and Sam Scott, to lobby DPH to build the center. 

“Elouise Westbrook was also critical to making this happen,” said Queen. 

Hatter, who is Enola Maxwell’s grandson, recalled that Maxwell, the Nabe’s long-time executive director, was a center advocate. “So was Rhonda Carchant, another one of the lead activists who worked to get the clinic opened,” said Hatter. 

According to Queen, PHCG insisted on having community outreach workers. “The center needs that kind of interaction between outreach workers and public housing residents to get patients registered for care,” said Queen. 

PHCG conducted a survey of low-income Hill residents who might use the center and identified policymakers to lobby. Long-time Hill resident, Art Agnos, who was then an aide to California State Assemblyman Leo McCarthy, also a Hill resident, joined the cause. On December 13, 1973, Agnos was shot in the neighborhood by one of the “Zebra Killers,” four Black men who targeted European-Americans. In response, Agnos fought even harder to establish the center. 

PHCG demonstrated to then-director of DPH, Dr. Francis Curry, that the Hill was medically underserved. PHHC opened its doors on January 17, 1976, named for Caleb G. Clark, an African-American social worker who worked at the center in its early years who died of kidney disease soon after it opened. 

PHHC’s first medical director was Dr. Robert Ross, a family health resident at Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital and Trauma Center (ZSFGH). Ross established the center’s ties to ZSFGH’s family health residency program and UCSF’s medical school. In July 27, 1983, Ross was shot and killed at PHHC by a widower of a sister of one of the center’s patients. 

Dr. Michael Drennan became the center’s next medical director, seeing it through tumultuous times. In 1987, the federal government, which’d been funding PHHC, withdrew its support. Agnos, who served as Mayor from 1988 to 1992, ensured that PHHC continued to receive municipal monies. Throughout Agnos’s term and following it, the City suffered budgetary cutbacks, putting pressure on the facility to close. In 2000, Public Health Director Dr. Mitchell Katz wanted to shutter PHHC and sell its building. Opposition from Hill residents prompted Roma Guy, a social worker and head of DPH’s Health Commission, DPH’s governing body, to overrule Katz. 

Queen remembered Drennan as an exemplary leader who helped the center develop an array of innovative programs. “(He) increased outreach to the community, with community health workers Sandy Porter and John Murphy, and enriched health professionals’ on-site training…became the central health and social care institution for Potrero Hill,” said Queen. 

Other past center medical directors included Dr. Jan Gurley, who succeeded Drennan, and Dr. Justin Morgan, who was medical director in 2017. Dr. Angela Miller became full-time medical director in February 2019.

In 2010, DPH extended the rear of the building to add two exam rooms, a conference area, and three offices. In 2014, Precita Eyes, an artist collective based in Bernal Heights, completed the Bridge Housing Mural Project on the facility’s south side in time for its 40th anniversary. The mural, painted by Susan Cervantes, Suaro Cervantes, and Fred Alvarado, features a shining eye that watches over the neighborhood. 

In 2016, the center’s medical records room was converted into office space for the behavioral health lab staff. In 2017, the center’s nursing station was remodeled to include new desks, computer stations, sinks and flooring. In 2018, the building upgraded its heating system. The facility’s laboratory is currently being remodeled. 

Many of the center’s patients live miles away from it. The shift began in the early 1990s, when PHHC was assigned patients from far-away neighborhoods. Queen and Agnos said gentrification is the primary reason why fewer people on the Hill are PHHC patients. 

“We’ve emptied out a lot of the neighborhood in the part of Potrero Hill that this health clinic was aimed toward. When the Potrero Annex and Terrace were full and bustling, plenty of people needed the clinic’s services,” said Agnos.

Agnos said low neighborhood enrollment makes the center less compelling to people unfamiliar with its history. “They look on a map and see its proximity to ZSFGH. It seems like such a short distance. But they don’t see the hill. They don’t see that it’s impossible for the average patient at this health center to reach ZSFGH. There is no direct route,” said Agnos.

Mullins added that ZSFGH is more oriented to emergency services than long-term primary care. 

According to Dr. Jonathan Rapp, a physician specialist who worked at the center from 1991 to 2017, “You have to have people advocating for services where the needs are.” Rapp said even when demand for services was high, PHHC never refused to care for a patient for an inability to pay. 

Queen said the center’s future is uncertain. “San Francisco is no longer affordable for working-class people. There’s hope that PHHC will see higher enrollment when the Potrero Annex and Terrace remodels are finished. Hope-SF, a public housing revitalization project involving the remodel of Hunters View, Sunnydale-Velasco, Potrero Terrace and Annex, and Alice Griffith developments, will increase the overall number of units in Potrero Hill. This should increase the number of eligible patients. These residents will be able to remain PHHC patients,” said Queen. “The center, the Head Start program, and the Nabe are the best programs that have developed in the neighborhood. The center became a place that everybody could relate to. Residents here have fought for it for years. They feel ownership of the center. PHHC has become a centerpiece. People have pride in it. When you walk into the place, it still has that feeling.”

“The center provides individual care that goes beyond ordinary care. You don’t get this kind of care at the ER. They patch you up and send you out. This center goes far more in depth. The staff at PHHC goes beyond the initial ailment. Here they listen to the community, absorb its culture, and help residents make a fuller recovery,” said Agnos. 

2019-06-21T10:27:16-07:00 June 21st, 2019|